• Home
  • /
  • Blog
  • /
  • Process, Restrictions and Qualifications for PACE Services

*THIS ARTICLE IS PROVIDED FOR EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY. IT IS NOT OUR POST. No copyright infringement is intended. We do not own nor claim to own any information shared. Instead our goal is to educate and help.


   Programs of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly, also known as PACE, are programs that provide comprehensive medical and social services to certain frail, community-dwelling elderly individuals, most of whom are dually eligible for Medicare and Medicaid benefits.

   An interdisciplinary team of health professionals provides PACE participants with coordinated care. For most participants, the comprehensive service package enables them to remain in the community rather than receive care in a nursing home. Here, we provide an insight to better understand the process and eligibility criteria for PACE services, as well as the restrictions and qualifications for accessing these services.

PACE Services: Process and Eligibility

   PACE services are designed to meet the healthcare needs of individuals aged 55 and older who are clinically eligible for nursing home care. The process begins with an initial assessment of the individual's healthcare needs by the interdisciplinary team.

   This team typically includes a primary care physician, nurses, social workers, dietitians, physical and occupational therapists, among others. They work together to create a comprehensive care plan that addresses the individual's unique healthcare needs.

   Once the care plan has been established, the individual begins receiving PACE services, which can range from primary care and hospital care to home health care and prescription drugs.

   Most PACE services are provided at the PACE center, which includes a day health center, medical clinic, and rehabilitation facilities. However, if the participant is unable to visit the PACE center, some services can also be provided at home or in the community.

   To be eligible for PACE services, the individual must be aged 55 or older, live within the service area of a PACE organization, be able to live safely in the community with the help of PACE services, and be certified as eligible for nursing home care by the appropriate State agency.

Restrictions and Qualifications for Accessing PACE Services

    There are some restrictions and qualifications for accessing PACE services. As mentioned, one must be 55 years old or older and must reside within a PACE organization's service area. Furthermore, the individual must be certified by a healthcare provider as needing a nursing home level of care. This generally means that the individual has limitations in multiple areas of daily living such as dressing, bathing, and eating, or has a cognitive impairment such as Alzheimer's disease.

   The individual must also be able to live safely in the community with the help of PACE services. This means that although the individual's health status requires a nursing home level of care, they are not so impaired that they pose a risk to themselves or others in the community. The PACE organization and the state administering agency are responsible for making this determination.

   Finally, the individual must be financially eligible for PACE services. Most states require the individual to be eligible for Medicaid, although some states allow individuals who are only eligible for Medicare to participate. Some PACE organizations also accept private pay individuals.

 Understanding the process, restrictions and qualifications for PACE services is crucial for those considering this type of comprehensive care. PACE programs can provide a valuable service to elderly individuals who need a high level of care but wish to remain in their community.

   As these programs continue to grow in availability and popularity, it is important for potential participants and their families to understand the eligibility requirements and process for accessing these services. With the right information and support, individuals can make the most of the all-inclusive care provided by PACE.

*OpenAI. (2023). ChatGPT (Mar 14 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat


Related Articles

Become an EDL Member Today!

Learn About The Benefits of Membership and More